Normal service will resume shortly

It’s all been a bit quiet lately on the old bike blogging front. My poor Great Edinburgh Bike Experiment is running two months behind schedule, I’ve had very little time (or inclination) to sit down and write and cycling has taken a bit of a back seat, too. For April was the month of The Move.

The Move was a sensationally stressful experience, but I am happy to say it’s over and done with. My now ex-flat needed 13 years’ worth of nonsense scooped out and deposited in an already full garage. And as I am without a car, I can advise that moving house with two wheels is a bit of major hassle. Even multiple cargo bikes at my beckon call would have been unlikely to stem the flow of stress leaking out of me.

My housing situation has been an ongoing saga for a while now. I am hamstrung in many ways, not least because I have four bikes and nowhere to put them. My humble chariots of awesomeness have been shunted from pillar to post in a bid to keep them dry and rust-free. Remember that old puzzle about the man with his chicken, grain and fox needing to cross the river? Replace the zoo with bikes and that accurately describes my life up until the end of April.

Now I am in a position to stop stressing about moving out and relaaaaaaax. Which means I can blog a bit more. And ride my bike a bit more. And focus on sorting out my knees a bit more. Huzzah.

2 comments

  1. Hi Claire,

    Glad to hear that you’re all moved now.

    I had bike storage problems – having at the moment four bicycles and one big motorcycle. My answer was to extend my shed to a double length shed. Euro sized pallets are ideal for this since – they’re free, already treated and only need sourcing and dismantling. I copied the structure of the original shed – it’s a sturdy frame with wood nailed to it. It is a fair bit of work that took much longer than I expected to honest but once finished is ideal.

    I used to have trouble with thieves raiding the shed so heavy duty hinges and clasps secured with coach bolts and cheap battery-powered alarms is the answer. Two clasps and locks high and low on the door work well. A small shed for four bikes would probably be easier and locking them together inside would be difficult for any thief.

    There are also winch systems for raising bikes into unused space or heavy hooks to store bikes on walls. There seems to be lots of spare, unused space in flats and houses.

    Enjoy the blog.

    1. Hi Frank, thanks so much for your comment and it’s lovely to hear you enjoy the blog.

      RE your bike storage problems, I know the predicament! I am looking for a property with space for a shed or garage, or at least a box room or somewhere to store the bikes that won’t get in everyone’s way. Easier said than done with Edinburgh house prices and my budget 🙂

      I like the idea of locking all the bikes together to deter thieves. I hear in north Edinburgh there’s been a rash of bike thefts from sheds and garages so anything to keep the horrors from accessing my bicycles sounds like an excellent plan…

Leave a Reply

